The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the Mayor claims that a new downtown subway system will immediately stimulate workers' productivity and improve the economy of Briggsville. To support his opinion, the author made serveral assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that most of citizens take buses as transportation for work. However, it lacks effective evidence to support this statement. People may travel to work by private cars or bicycles. If the congestion is caused by overwhelming private cars, it will be counterproductive to build a subway system since construction will adversely affect the traffic there and lead to more severe congestion. Therefore, to support the Mayor's suggestion, the author should provide more evidence on the composition of the traffic congestion in Briggsville, such as the proportion of private cars, buses and bicycles. Moreover, a research on the travel preference of its people is also vital to evaulate the proposal.

Secondly, the author assumes that the traffic congestion will last for twenty-four hours a day. Consider this twenty-four hours subway is provided, then more workers will go out and enjoy their evening life until very late, which absolutely will make them less energetic at work and less productive. In addition, most congestion only occur during working days. Hence, a seven-day twenty-four hours subway system might make the government in deficit as much less people will travel to downtown area on weekends. Moreover, most of those who complain about the bus system may live outside of the downtown area. Therefore, to build a downtown subway will not slove their problem by reducing travelling time.

Thirdly, the author seems to assume that traffic jam occurs in the major downtown areas. However, it might be the reverse situation. Consider, for example, at the peak hour in the afternoon, most people who live outside of town are travelling home, causing congestion on the way outside downtown area. In this case, it is useless to build a downtown subway but more effective approach is to imporve the road and public transportation conditions outside downtown area.

Moreover, the author fails to explicate the association between traffic time and workers' productivity. Will less traffic time directly lead to productivity improvement? Apparently, productivity of workers is related with many factors such as salary, wellfare and promotion, of which traffic time might be a minor one. Hence, to reduce traffic time may not necessarily increase productivity.

In sum, the author makes several assumptions which he fails to provide effective evidence for. To verify the Mayor's claim to build a downtown subway, the arguer has to prove that the congestion is occuring twenty-four hours a day in the downtown areas. Moreover, the author has to illustrate the association between traffic time and workers' productivity, and the profitability of this multi-million subway project as well.