SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author proposes that SuperCorp is making the best choice to move its headquaters from Middlesburg to Corporateville. To support this statement, the author makes three major assumptions which, in my pointveiw, are skeptical.

In the first place, the arguer assumes that the increasing in the number of homeowners is beneficial to the corporation. However, this assumptioin fails to discriminate the increase and the stock number. For example, if the origin population of Middlesburg is ten times of that of Corporateville, a short-time surge in population in the latter will not change the situation. Unless the increase of homeowners is in huge scale and continuous, and exact population data is provided, one is not able to compare the population of the two places or even further support the claim.

Another foundamental flaw is that the author assumes that Corporateville is a rural area which might not holds true. Moreover, the speaker fails to prove the vaildity of the survey. For instance, the sample size and survey period will surely influence the effectiveness of the report. Consider, only ten people among a thousand employees participated in the survey, then the preference of these ten people are not representable for all. In order to verify the assumption, the arguer should first prove that the survey is valid and then evident that Corporateville is not urban area.

Last but not the least, the author links lower taxes to safer and cheaper living environment, in my opinion, which is skeptical. It depends of the production mode of SuperCorp to determine whether lower taxed in Corporateville will leads to a cheaper producing and living place. For example, if the company is import-oriented, then local tax rates are a moot issue. What is of importance is the import tax rates which might be identical for both places. In addition, lower taxes could be merely for companies, hence employees will not benefit from it and the living cost could still be high. Furthermore, even if the living cost related taxes are low, it may cause a flood in of jobless and non-educated people, thus making the place more crowded and less safe. Therefore, the author have to prove that lower taxes in Corporateville indeed makes the place safer and cheaper by consolidate evidence.

In sum, the author fails to show evidence for the major assuamptions made in the statement. To convince people that moving headquaters is the best choice, evidences on the survey and detail economic conditions of Corporateville is needed.