Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has been the engine of the development of human society. Each small step of humanity is a big step forward of technology, from the discovery of fire to the advent of space-travelling technology. On the one hand, our life is being simpler than before as technology releases us from tedious work. On the other hand, our life is becoming more complicated as technology frees ours thinking and we are now trying to realize what only have been dreams of our ancestors.

Since the prehistory period, people have been relied on technology to survive. Before the fire was discovered, most of the tribe members were not able to survive when winter came. Thanks to the technology of fire lighting, people could keep warm and cook food, and thus the population of human being increased and societies emerged. Moreover, technology brings us not merely surviving living, but a cozy and easy life. Consider, the time used when one needs to get light thousands years ago and the time saved when one only has to press a button to have light now. Besides the time saved, technology has changed the living habits and social lives of human race.

Technology not only makes our lives simpler but also motivates people to think out of box and solve problems which they never encountered before. When automobile is invented, people are amazed by its fast speed and comfort environment. However, energy becomes a paramount issue in automobile industry in the past centrury since fossil energy is unrecyclable and become less and less. Therefore, scientists and politicians have been working to look for alternative energy and protect remaining fossil energy. We will face this kind of new challenges and keep thinking and solving these problems along with the development of technology.

Admittedly, every coin has two sides. While technology simplifies our lives, it requires continuous learning to understand new technologies which could be difficult for elders and disables. Although it takes time and effort to handle the new technology, family members and the government should stand forward to take this responsibility to take care of the minority in this technological world. In fact, this side effect is actually another stimulation for people to find creative approaches to settle the problem using new technologies.

In sum, technology which aims to make our lives simple, indeed, not only fullfills its purpose but also pushs human society to move forward in a faster pace and make our society more dynamic and colorful.