Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has consistently evolved over time to help improve our lives.

While some may argue that technology makes our lives more complicated, technology has proven time and time again that it is able to simplify our lives.

Some of these ways include communication around the world, technological advances in medicine, and helping to make our lives easier.

One way that technology has helped to make our lives easier would be through social media and communication. We are able to talk to anyone in the world, just by simply sending a message or calling them. Communication is a key part of living in today's society, whether it is for work, or keeping up with family and friends. One example of this would be long-distance relationships. I am personally in a long-distance relationship with my boyfriend who lives on the other side of the country. If it weren't for the ingenious creation of the phone and apps such as facetime, it would be extremely difficult to be able to talk to him every day. Social media allows people to meet who may have never had the chance to meet in real life. New friendships can be forged through similar interests and online message boards. Some may argue that technology and social media have caused humans to become more isolated, considering the fact that you never have to leave the comfort of your home to talk to someone. This argument does speak some truth since depression rates have risen since the start of social media platforms such as Instagram and Twitter. With social media and technology, people have the potential to become isolated from reality. However, if we continue to make an effort to see people and interact in the real world, this may never be a problem. Technology has allowed friends and loved ones to be able to talk whenever and wherever they choose, as well as new friendships to be forged.

Another factor that technology has allowed to simplify our lives is the technological advances in medicine. In today's world, people are living longer and healthier with the advances in medicine through the use of technology. One example of this would be the pacemaker. The pacemaker is a small battery-operated device that is surgically placed into the heart to help with those struggling to keep it beating on its own. Even simple vaccinations that have been created with technology in medicine were not available in the eighteen hundreds. People were dying from the simple cold and flu, which would be treatable today. There is the argument that technological advances in medicine are being abused to create new and dangerous diseases. However, there is no proof that this is even possible. Overall, technology in the medical field has helped to better our lives.

In today's society, technology has been created to simplify our lives. From inventions like security cameras to vacuums that run on their own, technology is doing jobs that we may have had to do on our own. Some may argue that technology will one day take over these jobs. Fast food restaurants may no longer need employees, and offices might not need human secretaries. However, there are many jobs that are necessary for human interactions. Places like hospitals need the care of an actual human, while restaurants are always more inviting when there is someone to take your order. Overall, technology can help with smaller jobs such as vacuuming and security, while there is still a large need for human interaction in the workplace.

Technology has been created to help simplify our lives. People are able to communicate all over the world through the use of their phones. They can stay in touch with friends and loved ones, as well as meet new people online. Advances in medicine could not have been made possible without the use of technology. People are living longer and staying healthy with new medicine coming out every year. It has also helped in simplifying our busy lives. From doing mundane tasks such as vacuuming or mowing the lawn. Even though some may argue against technology, there is no doubt that it has helped to improve the quality of our lives.