Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The significance of technological advancements in our lives is irrefutable, whether we are proponents to the change or not. With the advent of the 21st century and with the emergence of generation Y, technology is at the foremost of the human race, and has made breakthroughs in departments that our ancestors could never have imagined of. Hence, I digress with the fact that technology makes our lives more complicated, being knowledgeable of and witness to a multitude of advantages that research provides the human race with.

Let us start with the first statement that we commonly associate the effect of technology with: the world is indeed a smaller place. With the humongous advancement that smartphones and the internet have brought about in communication, only the most ignorant tramp living under a rock would be completely uninformed about what is going on in the world today. How this is beneficial is that no matter what corner of the globe one might be in, they are aware of sociopolitical occurences around the world. On introspection at a national level, citizens are more aware about environmental threats to their country, crimes that are maligning their society, or even the most unheard of aspects and stories of their prime ministerial candidates. This brings about a collective sense of responsibility that sees increased action and sensibility from the general public, ultimately leading to exponential progress as a society and as a country. Take the Amazon fires as an example. Social media made sure there was such a massive global outcry against the same, that world leaders ultimately came up with a solution in the G-7 summit. The pace of this process was vastly increased by none other than, technology.

Second, let's talk about medicine and healthcare. The first words that comes to my mind when I think about how the world was a century ago regarding this aspect, are small pox, polio, epilepsy, cancer, some resulting in pandemics, while all causing millions of deaths. Fast forward to 2019, and we do not even hear about small pox. Why is that so? Technology is the answer. Advanced healthcare techniques have not just immensely reduced our mortality rates, but raised our quality of life on the whole. Lesser people are succumbing to cancer every passing minute. Take technology out of the system, and lo, I do not see how our lives are not getting burdened with sickness and death.

With lesser mortality rates, we have more people in the world. Technology has made leaps in a field that ensures that majority of these “more” people do not just survive, but grow every day: Education. Belonging to this wonderful country named India, my ancestors lived in a society where educated were few, and education? As elusive as the golden fleece was for Jason. With so much research into putting across a better, cheaper and more accessible system of education, the masses are going to school, learning about the constitution, about an individual's rights and his duties, and understanding the definition of a social, noble and moral human being. Technology has made wonderful platforms like Teach for India possible in my country, and today, even the section of society at the bottom of the wealth graph is being able to afford going to school, all because of advancements in research. One does not even have to necessarily go to school today, technology has made education accessible through various other sources, most popularly, the internet. Our lives are not just being simpler here, but also being improved in the process.

With the manifold benefits that technology gives us, however, also comes a bane, wherein social media can be the hub of misdeed, terrorism and cyber bullying, just to name a few cases. Hence, though tech definitely makes our lives humongously simpler, we should also understand that with “great power comes great responsibility”, and employ this boon of human evolution in a sensible, moral and socially progressive manner, and most importantly, one which is inimical to our fellow humans.