SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that it is the best desicion for Supercorp to move to Corporateville. To support this claim, the author makes several assumptions in the argument which I find them skeptical.

Firstly, the author assumes that the increase of homeowners is associated with the liveability of a place. However, the increase of settlers in a place may cause problems as well. For instance, as more people are squzzed in one place, the possibility of commiting crimes is higher and the necessities such as water and electricity may be in shortage. Apparently, these situations will reduce the liveability of Corporateville. In addition, the arguer fails to prove that the homeowners in Corporateville is exceeding that of Middlesburg. Although the number of homeowners is increasing, it could still be less than that of Middlesburg. In short, the growing homeowners in Corporateville is not sufficient to support the company's desicion to move its headquaters.

Secondly, the author assumes that Corporateville is a rural area which is questionable. Consider, for example, Corporateville is a rural place before SuperCorp moves in, it is likely that the town will grow into a city very soon as more people imgrate to it and stimulates it economy. Moreover, the desicion of moving out of a city is based on a survey which fails to show its reliability and credibility by providing sample size, survey period and responsible rate and so forth. Hence, it could be counterproductive to move to Corporateville if SuperCorp aims for a bucolic place.

Thirdly, the author assumes that lower taxes will make Corporateville safer and a cheaper place to work. However, the arguer overlooks two factors to verify this claim. On the one hand, consider, if the material of SuperCorp's products are imported from Middlesburg which have higher taxes, then the cost of production will not be dereased. On the other hand, when a place is flooded with many people shortly, it will cause intense to its social security system and crime control policy. Hence, the crime rate may be incresed instead of decreased.

In sum, the author fails to provide effective evidence to support its assumptions and thus making the claim weak and skeptical. To strengthen the statement, the author has to clarify the above concers of the assumptions.