Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author claims that drinking more than three cups a day of green tea will cause side effects on one's health. To support this argument, the author mentioned a study which seems persuasive. However, the author fails to elaborate on several aspects of the study to make the argument more convining.

Firstly, the arguer fails to provide exact and empirical evidence of the research about green tea. Gernerally speaking, to evaulate the side effects of green tea, a long-term and large sample size experiment is required, for example, an over ten-year experiment with more than thousand volunteers, including various ages, weights, races and genders. Since different people will react to green tea differently, the author has to prove that the side effects will affecting most of the people. Without a more convincing research result, it can be skeptical to draw the conclusion by the study mentioned in the argument.

Secondly, the speaker overlooks the probability that the side effects may not be caused by green tea. For instance, volunteers participated in the study drinks not only green tea but also coffee daily. In this case, the side effects might be caused by coffee. Moreover, it is also possible that volunteers who showed the symptoms were those who drank more than twenty cups a day. Meanwhile, those drank three cups a day enjoyed the positive effects of green tea. If this is the case, limiting three cups a day for all will not be appreciate. Therefore, it is better to discussion all the factors that may cause the side effects before drawing the conclusion.

Thirdly, the conclusion of the argument is too general as it ignores the differences between different people. Consider, for example, Chinese who are used to drink green tea by generations. The genes in these people may be suitable for drinking green tea, thus no side effects will occur. Moreover, because of the immune-system boosting and anti-aging effects of green tea, the Chinese who drink green tea for years are likely to live longer. The author has to rephase the conclusion to take various situations into account.

In sum, the author fails to provide convincing evidence for his argument in three aspects, namely lacking effective research results, overlooking other factors that may cause the side effects and failing to consider different race of people. To strengthen the argument, the speaker has to provide more evidence on the aspects discussed above.