Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants powerful anti aging and immune system boosting compounds Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day the greater the benefits Green tea however contains moder

The argument proposed in the passage rests on several assumptions made by the author. Although the author mentions about a long-term study, we are not provided with any further data from that study. Moreover, the passage is innundated with vague terminologies that are open to interpretation and subject to fallacy. The validity of the argument cannot be justified unless we are provided with cogent cases bolstered by evidence.

In the first argument, the author suggests that Green tea has been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. This statement is subjective as no evidence has been provided regarding the concentration of anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds.

There is present no any statistical data to prove the same.

In the second argument, author states that many people believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. There is no any experiment/research conducted to prove the same. There is presence of no any statistical data to show the correlation between the more number of cups and the benefits achieved.

Evidence is required to corroborate the claim that the green tea contains moderate amount of caffeine which can cause sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. But the author has not enumerated the percentage of caffeine present in the tea. As concentration of caffeine is essential to be known to get an idea to what extent it is harmful for health. If it contains minor amount of caffeine, then green tea will not have detrimental effects on health. Neither has been stated that an experiment has been conducted to conclude the same. Nothing can be concluded on just mere basis of words.

It has been stated in the argument that a long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers. Here, we do not know about the nature of the people to whom this study was conducted. It might be the case that those people may have proclivity to certain biological disposition which might be responsible for showing the symptoms similar to those of chronic coffee drinkers or it might be due to the fact that they intake coffee as well as green tea.

The importance of limiting the intake of green tea to two cups a day is unwarranted unless the aforementioned holes in the argument are addressed by the author. Moreover, the validity of the argument rests on defining the terminologies used by the author throughout the passage clearly.