Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership. I disagree with the statement. Understanding the past is essential in every sphere of life. It makes us look at the mistakes done by our ancestors and not to repeat them. Moreover, We get an idea of how the hardships were encountered by our previous generations and how they had encountered them. When someone is in politics, it is essential for a particular leader to know the history of the past leaders. They should be aware of the contributions made by them through the movements and their struggle in bringing freedom to the country. If we are in research whether it is in the disciple of science or arts, a researcher should read all the research made to the particular subject taken by him, looking at the past gives him/her the exposure of the varieties of the work done in the respective field. It will give the researcher many innovative ideas that are different from past research and to take that innovative idea as part of his/her research.

Studying past theories in science acquaints us with all the theories made up to the present. It gives exposure to us to take out the flaw or shortcomings present in them. The flaw or shortcomings in past theories motivates others to think out of the box and to discover something new. We can impart new changes to past technology if and only if we have studied the past technologies and theories behind past technologies.

Every new discovery is a consequence of past discoveries. It is very essential to study the past in the current position of leadership. The current position of the leadership word is ambiguous here. It may be the medicine field, politics, or Computer field. In all these fields it is necessary to study past to make progress in the current sphere of life.

But there are some fields like music profession or sports profession, in all these positions one need not study the past. We can get expertise in respective fields by practicing more and more. One should not exert energy in studying the history of music or the respective sports. In all these fields there is nothing to be done innovatively. and new.

I think that understanding of the past depends on the profession or type of current position of leadership. Therefore, I reject the statement mentioned by the author that understanding of the past is of little use to the current position of leadership.