The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well rounded and charitable members of society The proposed graduation requir

It is good to engage the students in charity tasks. It incluates the moral values in students which helps in the overall development of students. The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. The proposal of making it mandatory is full of unwarranted assumptions which invalidate the argument made.

The argument has not considered the fact that the students who are in the final year who would be busy with their placement preparation would not be able to cope up or devote that much time. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. It might be the case some students want to opt for more elective courses and they can not devote that much time to charity. To make it mandatory, would put an extra burden on them. The decision has been taken without considering the situation of the students.

Some students who are in the first year or second year can be instructed to associate with any charity to give back to the community and gain real-world experience. It also depends on the nature of the study being pursued by the students. If a student belongs to the engineering stream, it would be futile for them as it would not give them any industry experience which would prepare them for the industry-oriented job. Indeed, if the students belong to any journalism course, charity exposure would help them to know the outer world better and will develop their personality. The argument consists of the unwarranted assumption of not considering the nature of the study students.

It also depends upon the student's wish to indulge in charity tasks. It might be the case that some students would not like to indulge in such activities. For them, to make it mandatory, would not be a good choice. The opportunity should be made available to them, who would happily like to involve in charity tasks without considering any apprehensions.

To conclude, the university assumes that it would be beneficial for all students without taking into consideration the stream they chose to build their careers. To put restriction to complete at least 8 hours that too unpaid hours for a total of 9 months is absurd as some students may be doing a part-time job to sustain their family after college hours. They would not be able to devote that much time to charity. The argument is subjected to fallacy therefore, I refute this argument.