The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument cogent enough for the fact that it assumes students' contribution to the society during graduate life will have a good impact which is wrong and hence not valid.

Undergraduate and graduate life of a student is very short compared to the whole life of a person. Each step in our life has its own specific time. We cannot assume a child of age 10 is becoming the president of a country and solving the problem of his nation. Student life is the life to gather knowledge, morality and responsibility. It is expected that a student will spend his precious time behind attending classes, doing home works, analyzing the things he learns each day. After completion of student life a student will apply his theoretical knowledge to improve the condition of the society and will help to create a better world. However, if curriculum requires that student should involve in mandatory community service than it may happen that students will not take the thing as mere a contribution to the society. They will consider this contribution as a part of their curriculum, students most of the time do not like coursework, and when the mandatory time ends they will not do such works after completion of graduate life. But our society requires contribution from each and every person and if students remove themselves from such work then our society will face problem.

Secondly, the argument assumes a time period randomly and has not provided any basis of consideration of such time period. Undergraduate life last for four academic years and and graduate life is even much shorter. So, if a student needs to spend nine months of his academic year in an activity which has no direct relation in their future career this will cause harm for the society in turn. Each seconds of life is precious, the faster the student will complete the graduation the faster they will be able to contribute for the society. Had the argument provided any legal basis for the time period it mentioned than the argument would be more valid.

However, the argument mentions that the contribution of the students will remain unpaid. But in order to take the savor of the real world student should face the truth of the real world. They should be paid money for their work and should be allowed to spend their lives with that money. If this can be done they will realize the condition of the people of poor and middle class family.

Finally, the argument mentions that the Dean's office will maintain a list of approved local charities. However, there are many unapproved charities in the society which also require help from the people of the society. If the students are told that they have to serve the charity of the particular area they live then it will be more fruitful.

The argument is flawed because it leaves many unanswered questions.