In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based upon a survey result but details about the survey has not provided , and hence the argument is not cogent enough.

The argument states that, 90% of the graduates agreed that internship was beneficial for finding job and they are the ones who actually earned job. At the same time, the argument states that only 40% of the graduates participated in an internship program. However, it may be possible the survey was conducted on those 40% who participated in the internship program and it appears that even 10% of those graduates denied about the necessity of internship for getting a job which makes the conclusion of the argument vulnerable. Meanwhile, those 60% who did not participate in the intern program might have got job immediately after graduation and the survey did not include them. If this fact is true then it can be said that intern program for those art graduates is not necessary as the argument is emphasizing since almost all the graduates who passed without attending any intern program have managed highly paid job. Had the argument stated in details about the study, only then the argument would be cogent enough.

However, even it is true that intern program is important for getting a job, it is not necessarily true that the graduates have to do their intern in the nearby Skyway company. Primarily because, it may be possible that the city in which the company is located is a small sub-urban city and it is not famous for designs nationally. The argument's justification about that the particular company as a famous one in the city can be countered by the fact that being a small city there is no other well known company and for this fact that company is thriving in the city though is not producing high quality business design. It is possible that companies located in other cities near the university are famous nationally and internationally for their business design and if students do their intern in those companies will learn many things which otherwise they will not learn from Skyway company. Had the argument clearly stated that, Skyway is not only thriving in that city in which it is located but it is famous nationally and internationally only then the conclusion of the argument would be cogent enough.

The argument states that Skyway plays vital role in the success of the graduates in their career but has not provided any evidence on that point. It may be possible that few of the students did their intern program in that company and are yet waiting to get a job while all of their friends are doing job in famous companies. Had the argument stated clearly that those who attended in that company have received attracting job offer only then it can be cogent enough.

The argument is flawed for numerous unwarranted assumptions.