Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does

While it may be true that the fitness levels of the citizens are declining, this author argument is not cogent enough to consider that fitness level of people will improve with improved economical condition. The argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to consider that fitness level is correlated with economy.

The argument cites that the fitness level of the people is declining: while 50% of the people fulfilled the standard for fitness some twenty years ago, at present only 25% of the citizen fulfils those requirements. But it may happen that the birthrate of the city was in declining side for the last few decades which is the cause why most of the people who were young and fit enough are now old, and their percentage are much higher than the young people living in the city. If this fact is true, then it can be easily understood that old people are not going to be equally fit as they were in their young age. So, without further knowing the age level of the people of the city we cannot conclude anything about the fitness level, hence the argument is not cogent.

However, as we are talking about the fitness level standard, what is actually the standard? Does this standard is fit for young people? Does it consider the weak physical condition of the old citizens? We never know from this argument. It may happen that in real world physical fitness is defined according to age level but in this case a generalization of fitness is considered. If this is the case, it can be easily understood that old people are not going to fulfill the criteria, and hence the argument is not strong enough.

Additionally, the argument cites that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. However, it it general truth that occasional exposure to anything may not be equally virulent as it is for the case of continuous exposure. It may be true that those people who own computer are physically fit but we never know about the demographic condition of the area. It may be true the area under consideration is actually is an university area, where students live and naturally they are young and use computer occasionally in an entire day, and thus fit enough. On the other hand, the citizens who do not have computer may actually be the officials who need to do their job by using computer for most of the day and long time exposure to computer is deteriorating their physical condition. So, we cannot conclude whether computer is guilty for poor physical condition or not.

The more important thing is, the argument assumes poor economic condition is responsible for the declination of purchase of fitness-related products and services. However, as we know, walking and jogging is a good exercise and the city under condition has many parks where mass people can walk or run and for this fact they were never inclined to buy those products. So, citizens' ;ow expenditures on those products cannot be correlated with the fitness level.

The argument of this author is not cogent enough because of some holes and unwarranted assumptions.