Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

In order to consider a critical judgement of work in any field useful, it must be ensured that the judgement has come from a person who is an expert in that field.

Judgment of a work can be done without having any knowledge about the particular field; it does not required to be an expert before giving judgment. However, before considering a judgment an useful one it must be ensured that the person who is giving it is an expert and knows everything about the subject, because judgement from non expert may involve emotion and may be useless. Judgment from non-expert may be useless for numerous factors. Primarily, the person who is judging may not know the full thing about the work he is judging and his judgment may valid upto certain limit and beyond that it becomes useless. For example, when a novel is published many fans, critics, journalist provide their critical judgment about the work. But judgment from a fan is not equally useful as the judgment from a famous novelist who knows details about novels. For fan the facts which they want if they are present in a novel may be enough to give positive judgment on the novel. However, it may happen that as a novel the work may be not thorough and lacks potentiality to becoming a great novel and only the expert in writing can find those flaws.

In the field of civil engineering a judgment from a professor is not equally useful as the judgment from a lay person. For example, in order to remove traffic jam from a city lay people provides their judgment and most of the times their judgments differs from one another because every one analyze the problem from his perspective. However, it is the expert transportation engineer who provides the actual solution and his critical judgment on the problem includes the solution of traffic jam. He analyze the whole system theoretically and then create simulation of the problem and after much deliberation he expresses his decision. So, in no way his judgment is comparable to the judgment of a lay person.

Similarly, in the field of Cricket, fans can provide their judgment about the playing eleven of their country's team but it is ultimately the coach and the captain who make the final decision because they know the strong and weak points of each and every player of the team than a normal fan does. Even, most of the times the judgement of the fans involve emotion and no decision can be made without cerebral analysis.

When a scientific new theory is created a seminar is arranged in where the expert of that field attend; it is not those people barely knows anything about science. The pros and cons of the theory the application of the theory can be judged only after knowing about that field otherwise not.

However, when a mobile phone company introduces a new model of their phone in market the users express their judgment on the mobile phone. For example, for a photo lover person the camera quality is the prime factor while a game lover person primarily looks into the configuration of the mobile phone. So, in no way their judgment on the phone is compatible but mobile company may have to consider those reviews as their business depends on the users not the experts on mobile phones. But even then the judgement from expert should be taken into consideration for the future.

Judgment from the lay person is not so useful as the expert ones.