Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

I disagree with the claim. In my opinion there are cases when a judgement that was said by a person who is not an expert could still have a decent value.

I think that it is more important what do we mean when we say critical judgement. If it is an argument with a number of proofs and examples, well amount of prework for the question then it might has a value. As an example I can say, that there was a student in my university who wasn’t an expert at that moment who found a mistake in a teacher’s work and tried to solve it by himself. Nobody trusted him at first but it ended up that he was right. After years he became a well respected professor.

In my opinion there is one more important factor that can play an significant role. A person from another field might has a fresh view on things. A good example is the fact that a group of Japanese biologists officially suggested to change the shape of the famous Japanese speed train and make it looks more like a fly fish in order to increase the speed and decrease a level of noise of this train. This idea worked well and now this train has a name “Shinkansen”.

Althought, there are not that many specialists of any targeted field in the world. Their amount is lower than the amount of all people that might have any opinion about some question. If we reject all ideas from non-expert people we might loose a precious solution.

Nevertheless, it is hard to disagree that it has more probability that a person who spent years in the area and did plenty of mistakes from which he learnt know more than a person who didn’t do that.

I think that anyone can have a decent critical judgement that has a value, but not everything can be one.