According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

I understand the argument and recommendation but in my opinion without solid clarifications the recommendation could not be taken seriosly. There are some weak points that make those argument falls apart.

We can see that after replacing the old system by the honor code the nubmer of cheating cases decreased from thirty to twenty one and after five years even to fourteen but we can not be sure that it was caused by changing the system. Firstly, it might be that exams started to be more structured and students can understand them easily or for example the minimum grade to pass became lower and students don’t have the reason to cheat that much. Secondly, we can not be sure that students report maximum of all witnessed cheating actions because they might be friends and want to keep these relationships.

Atlhout, I think it is important to mention that without knowing more details of survey we can not rely on this results. Who were questioned? What if it were people that have always cheated before and were caugheted by teachers and now they would do this easily because they know that their friends would not report them?

The last but not the least is the fact that all places are different. All cultures are different. Some places will value relationship more than the system. In those places it will not work at all. I think it demands a larger analysis of the college or university before we can make a conclusion about should we change the old system or we should not.

Taking all previous facts in mind I can conclude that this argument should clarify those moments before make this broadcast recommendation otherwise we can end up in a society where the level of cheating among the students only become bigger.