According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument essay the author concluded that the use of honor code can be the most effective solution in reducing the cheating among the college and university students. Though there have some assumptions that the author mentioned in the passage have some errors to conclude this directly.

At first, the author claimed that the honor code managed the students not to cheat in academic exams and notify a faculty member if they suspects others in cheating but this can not be effective one because the students might be provided wrong information to the authority. This situation can be the worst enough for any students who do not cheat in exams.

Furthermore, the author mentioned that the number of cheating is decreasing every year by using the honor code policy as he or she mentioned some statistical data for some years. But logically there have some flaws to compare all the data with the rate of cheating in the exams. There have many possibilities that the number of students is not same as the previous years. The author should include the number of students for those years he or she mentioned in the passage. Obviously among 100 students the number of cheating rate will vary than among the 200 students the number of cheating rate.

Lastly, the policy brought a good result in reducing cheating among the students does not mean the policy will same successful in other schools and university at the same time. It can be possible that there have variety of academic procedures in every others institute. Though the author noted some important part to consider the conclusion effective but there some discrepancy in the passage to support the point as well as the conclusion. If the author satisfy all those consideration the conclusion of passage must be strong enough.