According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Teacher's reports should be considered much more reliable than student's reports, as the teachers definitely have less personal reasons to do so. Suggested system does not account badly intentioned reports or false positives, which can be used as calumny against other students. This may happen in the university environment where there are always some tensions between still juvenile people. For that it is needed to measure the amount of ill will reports, whether by questioning the potential cheater, or further investigating each of reports.

Additionally, with such system in use, students might come up with an agreement between them to cover each other and not to report cases of cheating, what can lead to a severe exploitation. And just by looking at the numbers, it is suspicious that in the first year this system was introduced, the number of reports dropped heavily by 30%. That might even be due to a such student agreement. Selected students can be questioned in order to detect the presence of such misuse. However, even with that in place, there is no method to stand against it, because the actor, the judge, is not outside of the system and tightly coupled with the potential cheaters.