According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument is about the risen cheating among the students, and one college called Groveton has been able to reduce the amount of cheating among its students by adopting an honor code. This system has been successful in this college, and it is recommended that it should be used in other colleges and universities. This argument has some weaknesses and strengths that I will discuss.

About the strengths, I can say that adopting one way to reduce cheating helps students to rely on their knowledge and have more motivation to study. In this system, students are asked to agree not to cheat and even report people who are suspected to them. In this way, the rate of cheating will reduce.

However, the question is how long this system can be successful? There are no details about the application of this system. How do students report the suspected people to the officials? If they have to report in front of other students, this way can hurt the relationships among them, and sometimes can cause leaving the college or university.

We should know how the application of this system has been evaluated. What type of method has been chosen for evaluation? There are some figures which show that with this system the amount of cheating has been reduced in Groveton college. But they are not enough for a comprehensive evaluation. How can we ensure that these figures have been evaluated correctly? How have they been evaluated?

The use of this system in other universities and colleges is recommended. How can we ensure that this system has the same results in other colleges and universities? Have other colleges and universities the same conditions? Officials of other colleges have to consider whether this system can be implemented in their colleges or not. They have to consider which factors they need to run for this system. They may be forced to use other alternatives to reduce cheating among students.