The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s world, economic development has been constantly driven by the advances of new technologies and the ways we live our lives are regularly transformed by new shifts in technological paradigms. We need to reflect on the goal of technological development and its consequences. I agree that the primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency in a variety of activities. But whether or not people will have and enjoy more leisure time depends on the roles different people play in society and the goals they have in their life.

*When developing technologies used by students and researchers in higher education, the goal should be to help them work on their academic studies and research projects more efficiently. One of the major challenges of students and scholars is to keep pace with the increasing amount of scholarships that are now available in digital forms. Search engines such as Google Scholar and Citation management software such as Zotero have enabled the students and researchers to access and manage a large number of research articles efficiently. Yet, with the blessings of such advanced technologies, students and scholars will not enjoy more leisure time. With the increasing competition among students and scholars worldwide for places of further education and research funding, expectations are high for better academic performance and research output. Therefore, students and researchers likely have to work long hours to meet such expectations.

Likewise, the primary concern of advancing technologies for white-collar workers and business managers should also be efficiency, especially when it comes to teamwork. For example, through teleconferencing enabled by the Internet, people can now work from home by staying in touch with colleagues through microphones and cameras, thereby saving the commuting time and increasing the overall work efficiency. This is, in fact, the primary goal of developing new telecommunication technologies. But this new development, instead of offering more time for people to enjoy their leisure activities, threatens to take away the time they should spend with their families. After all, the boundary between workplace and home has been blurred, with the demand for more work eating away our family time.

The only group of people that actually can enjoy more leisure time as a result of technological innovation is the retired elderly people. The technological solutions designed for them should have efficiency as the top priority so that more time can be saved for leisure. By shopping online via stores such as Amazon.com and eBay, the elderly can stay at home and get everything they need by delivery. Smart refrigerators can help them keep track of the grocery items they need automatically and facilitate the ordering in a much more efficient way. Also, the latest mobile technologies also make it possible for them to do certain body checkup via smart wristwatches, making it unnecessary to even visit the doctor under certain circumstances. The time they saved will go to their favorite leisure activities as they have retired and do not have any commitment to jobs.

In conclusion, it is reasonable to argue that the main goal of technological development is to increase people’s efficiency in doing different things and save our precious time. But for most people who have to work and make a living, they would not be able to enjoy more leisure time but often find themselves working long hours to keep up with the pace of modern life. Yet, for the retired elderly, to live in today’s world full of technological innovation is a true blessing as they can enjoy a great amount of leisure time. *