In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that past achievements in any field are important for making any significant contribution. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

By reviewing the history, we can see that most societies owe to their people in the past because of the achievements and progress they had in their lives, and they provided the main context of any progress for the future generations. In each period, there were previous people who with their endeavor tried to make some impossible situations to possible ones. For example, the construction of a plane which has been done by wright’s brothers. They were able to turn the flight dream into reality. They could build the first plane without motor and fly in the sky. After that based on Wright's achievement and with new technologies, today the well- equipped giant planes have been built. All of us owe to previous people because of their inventions such as power, the car, and the train which have made our lives much easier than before.

However, in some scientific fields, we cannot see any achievement or endeavor of people in the past. For instance, most successes in space science are not because of the experiences and endeavors of previous people. In the past, there were no enough technologies and facilities for people to go traveling space. They could not have imagined that someone would be able to walk on the moon in the future. Such contemporary knowledge is based on up to date and new technology in modern life. Another example is renewable energy projects which are related to environment protection. In the past, the weather was good, and people were able to enjoy the fresh air. But today because of the population growth, a large number of cars and traffic, air pollution is high and most people have health problems. Therefore, for decreasing the problems of air pollution these projects have been run. These projects for solving new problems in modern life exist. In these projects, technologies that have not been in the past are used to protect the environment.

In conclusion, in my view, in some fields, past achievements are very influential but for some new fields such as space and renewable energy projects, they are not practical.