The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries

The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries. In my opinion, the propounded statement expresses a biased opinion. If we look back in history, there has been incidences of both cases; greatness of a person being appreciated by his contemporaries and at times only by by people who lived after him/her.

One of the best examples to quote here would be Mr. M.K. Gandhi; the man whom we call ‘Mahatma’, with reverence. Every Indian, in fact many people across the globe, is well aware of his role in the struggle for freedom of the country against the colonial rule. Although, every Indian, in whatever way possible, contributed to the freedom movement, Gandhiji’s role has always been deemed most significant. Such was his respect, that even the coloniast’s; the Britisher’s; respected him. It was the high respect commanded by him; both among Indians as well as the Britisher’s that he was chosen as representative of India for the ‘round table conference’ in London to discuss issues pertinent to India’s freedom. I believe he is the best example of a person whose greatness was well reverred even by his contemporaries, not just the people who lived after him; the Indian’s today.

However, there is no denying that there has also been several cases wherein the greatness of an individual was not evident to his contemparories but was decided by people who lived after him/her. The examples include many great poet’s, writer’s, leaders, social workers, artists, sportspersons. Let’s take sportspersons. There has been instances when a sportsperson achieved great laurals for the country in the sport that he played. But unfortunately for him, that sport was not popular during the time he earned success. After several years, or even decades at times, when that particular sport started gaining popularity, the followers started to respect the acheivements of the former player. The talented did get the due recognition but not at the time when he made his achievements but a later time whence his sport gained popularity.

In the end, I would like to stress that it is not an ingrained principle that greatness of an individual is only decided by those who live after him and not by his contemporaries. As has been analysed above, there has been instances of both the cases. Thus, it cannot be predicted when an individual would achieve greatness or who would decide his/her greatness. An individual who performed great deeds would, some day definitely get applauds.