Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

It is said that our minds and spirits are restrained by formal education. I agree with this situation to some extent.

The education system is the most important part of each country. Each country has its systems and rules for managing it. In most countries, students with lower levels of education should study the same books and sources. For example, in my country Iran, they have to read history, math, physics, science and other academic subjects. All of these subjects are very limited and they are only fundamental subjects for higher levels of education. Therefore, it is believed that formal education in elementary and secondary schools tends to restrain students’ minds and spirits as they only have limited knowledge about their surroundings. In fact, their knowledge is restrained to their books.

However, the more educated students become, the more knowledgeable they will be. When they start high school, they learn how to use the Internet. The Internet itself does not allow students to be in a limited scope. In a higher level of education, people have access to the Internet alongside their formal and academic education. These two complement each other. For example, we can see that even for solving one mathematic issue, students can search on the internet and find different solutions for it. They can also contact other students in other parts of the world and share their information. Maybe, before the introduction of the internet, the minds of students were limited to formal education, and they did not have any knowledge but the things that they had learned from their teachers and books. But now, the Internet has removed this limitation, and students can search for different things freely without any limitation. All countries have their formal education which is a part of their education system and students should pass it. But the thing that makes it easy and free for the student is having access to the Internet as they can search beyond what they learn in their formal education. In this way, they can release their minds from the limitations and mental ropes.

To summarize, in my view, formal education only can restrain minds and spirits in a lower level of education. By contrast, at a higher level of education, with the introduction of the internet, this subject is faded.