Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is the basis of our society and culture and knowing the most basic aspects is a very essential portion of each individual's lives. The author deems that formal education works as a hindrance to creative minds and obstructs the perception of freedom. He or she implies that without formal education, one's mind can enable more freedom of their spirits and mentality. I strongly disagree with this notion and contend that formal education does not restrain our minds and spirits for two reasons.

Freedom is a concept that was very unfamiliar in the archaic days. For many individual's, oppression was a significant obstruction in their lives, restraining all forms of personal opinions and thoughts. The reception of education and voting rights, or rather the lack of, and discrimination were a few of these factors. In the 20th century, African Americans were discriminated against and sold as property. They were denied education while yearning desperately to gain knowledge. Such tactics are still currently being emulated in the country of India with many women who are being sold off into "slavery" in the form of a conjugal agreement. These individual's desire the right for a formal education. If such education was contraining, then why do the people who lack it feel more restrained than those who have access to it. Ironically, such information would not even be known and would be swept under the rug, eventually dying down, if it were not for formal education reterating such historical and current events. As history, politics, and current events are a portion included in formal education, in order for indviduals to carry out themselves freely, it is essential they have knowledge and

gratefullness of their freedom and how it impacted those in the past and how it affects those surrounding them currently.

Formal Education is the alphabet of a career. Without such knowledge, the quality of a person's career, job, or even daily life might be attenuated. Rather or not the career is a profession that involved ten years of assiduous studying or two years of lax studying, both involve formal education which contributed to their success and efficacy. Even a painter, whose mind might be considered free and creative, which many might assume might not need formal education, would still need to possess the discipline and basics portrayed in a formal educated setting.

While many aspects of formal education may seem excessive to an individual's goal and destiny in life, those exact aspects may be essential in extraneous activities in one's daily living regarding other factors and cannot be eradicated from the educational system. For the society and culture to continue with its diversity and progress regarding intellectual capabilties, it is important that each individual, or at least the majority of the population, possesses common formal knowledge that is provided in the classrooms.