All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Volunteer work is meant to be a munificent activity performed by individuals who show some level of interest in the work. It is a voluntarily decision, hence why it is labeled as volunteer work. With the exception of miscreants who are ordered to allocate time to serve the community, volunteer work should not be forced upon anyone. The prompt engenders a proposition of neccessary volunteer work amongst parents. I strongly disagree and contend that the parents should not be required to unwillingly allocate time to their children's school for two reasons.

Firstly, the opportunity cost of volunteer might not be worth it for the parents. Volunteer work means working for free and that is a decision that should be made solely on the individual. For instance, if there is a family living in a state of penury, living paycheck to paycheck, and merely gliding by their impeccunious lives, how can they afford to take even a single day off from work to go volunteer at their children's school without the promise of any financial benefit. They would need to forego that day's paycheck and would encounter monetary issues. Another example would be of a set of parents who are doctors. Will volunteering at the school be more beneficial than affluent doctors saving lives? Perhaps in a very specific or singular case it could be beneficial, however, generally in most cases it would not. Therefore, the opportunity costs need to be carefully assessed and meticulously analyzed before the proposal is exhorted.

Further, ironically the suggested volunteer proposal can end up being expensive. Schools are a very delicate environment as they consist of children and teenagers. The schools should not be inundated with strangers without background checks, which would burgeon the expenses significantly and may even cause financial detriment rather than communal gain. For instance, there are millions of children in school, and assuming one parent for each child volunteers (with the data even including siblings, orphans, and foster kids), there would still be millions of volunteers, and therefore millions of background checks. Also other safety measures would also be included in the expenses. This could be a drastic drawback regarding their financial aspects. So before this recommendation is executed, the expenses associated with it also need to be scrupulously addressed.

Although volunteering at schools may appear to deteriorate costs, due to lost opportunity costs and expensive background checks, it might lead to expenses increasing. In order to ameliorate the system, they can provide the option to volunteer, but the rule as setting it as a requirement should not be executed.