Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

According to the author, Nature's Way would be a successful business in the town Plainsville, a city the author assumes is inundated with healthy living styles. The author purports this conclusion based on various statistics of the sales of health-related products, correlating sales of health-associated items with healthy-living. However, before this assumption can properly be assessed, it is essential that the assumptions which the author based his conclusion on be meticulously analyzed and the implications regarding the conclusion be thoroughly addressed.

Firstly, do the citizens of Plainsville explicitly purchase sports shoes and clothing for the purpose of exercising? Although it may seem like an obvious choice, it is not written in stone that such products are solely utilized for the purpose they created for. For instance, sports shoes can be very comfortable and something that one might wear to every place he travels to, whether it be the gym, the grocery store, or even to go out for drinks with friends, which is the opposite of being healthy (atleast temporarily). Another example is of a frugal college student who may purchase exercise clothing due to its comfort and use that clothing for both sleepwear and occasional casual wear. If the above scenarios are valid, then the assumption that Plainseville is a health concious town is substantially deteriorated.

Secondly, even if these items are purchased for the purpose of working out, then do these specific people actually eat healthy food? There are many people who exercise and disregard diet, and those who exercise by attending the activities the author mentioned could very well be some of them. For instance, a person who goes to the gym everyday, signs up for various health classes, and ties to live an active lifestyle may be consuming pizza and ice cream everyday as he does not prefer healthy food. If the company opens its business in this town, he will not be one of the customers. If such people are the citizens the company will be targeting, then the assumption of profibility based on the statistics may be precarious.

In conclusion, the assumptions of the challengers are drastically blemished due to its dependence on copious unjustified presumptions. Before the company proceeds with their business plan, adequate evidence, cogent reasoning to corroborate the claim, and meticulous review of the implications need to be done in order to further explicate the suggested proposal.