The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

According to the health newsletter, the rate of reported bicyclists who wear helmets has significantly increased within a decade, alongside the rate of accidents involving bicyclists. The author assumes that due to these statistics, the bicyclists initiated portrayal of insouciant demeanor because of increasing feelings of security and therefore purports to launch a program that addresses the topic of increasing bicyclist safety with other means. However, before this recommendation is executed, the proposal needs to be scrupulously analyzed, address certain implications, and the answers to two questions need to be obtained.

Firstly, are the accidents that are being reported actually involve the bicyclist who were wearing helmets or do they also include those that did not wear their helmets? For instance, a decade ago there could have been one hundred accidents in City A involving all types of bicyclist, so currently there would be approximately three hundred. However, the extra two hundred individuals could be the 35% of bicyclist who did not wear a helmet when the accident was reported. Due to the wanting of this specific data, it is insufficient to determine whether the accidents are truly due to the burgeoned sense of security. Therefore, if the above is true, then this proposal might not hold merit.

Secondly, the environment a decade ago is significantly disparated from the current environment. For example, the roads could be more dangerous currently than how it was in the 2000's. There could have been construction of highways, or the roads might have deteriorated in quality, leading to many bumps which could cause accidents. In order for the author's assumption to hold merit, it needs to be determined that the roads and environment were comparably and fairly similar.

Finally, is the bicyclist at fault with the accident? The accidents reported could have been between vehicles and the bicyclists with the person in the vehicle being at fault. It is not reported what amount or what the rate of these accidents find fault with the bicyclist. For example, if a bicylist adheres to the laws, stops and cycles accordingly, then he is at not fault. However, a car coming in the same direction may be reckless and run a red light; the vehicle might unwittingly cause a wreck. In this case, the bicyclist is not to blame; he did not take his helmet safety for granted. Thus educating him further regarding safety might be futile and concotting a plan based on accidents involving blameless bicyclist may also waste resources and time.

In conclusion, the assumption of the challenger is drastically flawed due to copious unjustified presumptions. In order for the recommendation of launching an educational program for safety to be reasonable, the author should provide adequate evidence that the stated assumptions are true. The author should also provide cogent reasoning to corroborate his claim. If the author provides the sufficient data, then there could be a possibility of further analysis and explication of the suggested proposal of launching an educational program regarding safety.