Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With a world consisting of approximately seven billion people, there is bound to be a diversity of opinions and views. People are consistently learning new things and perceiving new insights based on the variety of opinions portrayed to the public. The author suggests that those who share similar views enable each other to gain more knowledge revolving around the subject in question. I strongly disagree that there is more abundance of knowledge retrieved from similar views compared to that of opposing views for two reasons.

Learning is usually a concept of acquiring new information or expanding on what we already have pertained in our minds. If we already share a similar opinion with another person, chances are we probably not only have a tantamount knowledge of that specific topic, but the material is also very similar. For instance, let's take gun control laws as an example. This sensitive topic has a plethora of different views. Some of these views differ in how they see the weapon and some differ in how they see the person behind the weapon. If two individuals who oppose to the freedom to bear arms coalesce and share their views, it is less likely they will be sharing new information, but rather strenghtening their opinion on what they already perceive and exchanging information on what they already might know. Similarly, if we take two indivuals who support the right to bear arms and place them in the same room for discussion regarding this topic, they would emulate the opposing party tactics. However, if we take an individual from each party and let them discuss their views, it may lead to a heated debate, however, it would not be without new perception and new information. The pro-gun individual may provide an example of safety measures or atrocious cases revolving guns that the other might have ignored as they did not know much about that topic and similarly the one who is opposing might share his knowledge that the other participant individual failed to acknolwedge since he was biased. Thus, we learn more from those with opposing views than similar views.

Not only do same-perception socialization limit our knowledge and learning curve, it also puts a blind on our own discrepencies in our opinions. For example, many people want to abolish tax. However, that is the governments main revenue. It is one of the reasons why everyone gets to go to primary school for free unlike many other countries. Now, two individuals discussing this matter might merely strenghten their opinions talking to each other and perhaps gain more information such as which countries do or do not have high or low taxes, thus 'learning' more. However, if someone who opposes to tax abolition conversates with them, they would share the same information regarding revenue and schools as mentioned above and therefore the anti-tax party would be able to acknowledge the fallacies in their opinion.

Disagreements may cause stress and stress is a significant factor in the learning process, many times it is negative. However, stress is also a positive factor in the learning curve and disagreements provide with more stress but also more insights to the world. Those who share the same perceptions might be biased against opposing views, leading to them mentally shutting out the unknown information, and precluding themselves from obtaining new information. With differences of opinions, we also realize the fallacies in our perceptions. Thus, we learn more with opposing views compared to the knowledge we obtain with similar views.