Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations are an essential aspect to our society and our environment; how they operate reflect our world and its standing position, whether it be in a negative light or a positive light. The prompt depicts the fact of various opinions regarding the contribution of corporations in our society; some people have the belief that companies need to encourage our universe's well-being while other's aver that the companies should focus on their own financial gains. I strongly agree with the primary opinion and advocate that the benefits of society be looked into during corporate procedures for two reasons.

The promotion of well-being throughout the society could actually benefit the company as well and therefore perform a two-in-one tactic. The functioning of society is bolstered by salubrious performances and perceptions. Such functions lead to the buttress of the economy and as the economy is strenghtened, the corporations simultaneously obtain an advantage in many cases. For instance, a wealthy and venerated firm could promote the dangers of drinking and driving via a meticulously constructed eye-chatching advertisement. Assuming the plan elicits favorable results, such a commercial developed by a popular company will catch the attention of many viewers, thus leading to social awareness, which could lead to a betterment of the society by mitigating the dangers on the road. These tactic might lead to more customers for the company due to the impressed individuals wanting to support such a firm that is solicitous and looks out for the commonfolk. Thus, the promotion of such well-being could be beneficial for both the society and the company.

The opposition of promotion of the well-being can severely attenuate the society. What is a corporation without its customers? If a corporation is performing in a corrupted or tenuous environment, they how much progress would they see in the future? In India and other Asian countries, there is a myriad of skin-lightening creams advertised to the market. Such companies have atrocious commercials where they substantially denigrate a darker complected individual and laud the fairer skinned person. For example, the company that sells "Fair and Lovely" creams depicted an advertisement where a woman of a medium skin tone was denied a job and degraded as the employers took in the light-skinned girl. Upon using the marketted cream, the original woman obtained a lighter-skin tone and the commercial portrayed that she obtained the job due to this. This spreads a very negative light in society and enhances the diffidence and insecurities that one might feel due to such colorism/racism. This toxic environment could in the future lean to the company's defame once or if the countries start to become more broad-minded and decide that they do not want to support a corporation with such narrow-minded thinking.

Although corporations may deem that their profits would not increase due if they paid attention to the individual's well-being, many conjectures display that it could actually benefit them. It could lead to the attraction of more consumers based on their portrayal of well-being while also preventing becoming notorious with their negative factors.