Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

health is an aspect of our life that varies from person to person based on the environment surrounding us. The author assumes that leeville and masonton are similar in regards to work and health and concludes that the given facts can aver that Leevillepossesses great health benefits than masonton. however, before this conclusion can be locked in, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, is it fair to compare the population between the small town and large city? we do not know the number of people in each location. Although the proportion of illnesses is much lower in leeville than in masonton, we do not know the actual number of people within the town and city; this is information needed to adroitly confirm the conclusion. For example, if there are only one hundred people in the small town of leevile and one hundred of those were reported to have suffered ith stress-related illnesses, is yields to 10% of the total population. Similarly, if there are one thousand people in the city and one hundred of them report of similar illnesses, then that yields to 10% of the population. Now these proportions are the exact same, however, not justifiable when you compare the two cities to each other. The comparions would be between ten people versus one hundred people. while proportions are many times an excellent way for comparisions, the population size of one hundred people is insignificant compared to the population size for one thousand, at least when comparing health benefits.

Furthermore, even if the proportions were fairer and justifiable, is mental illness the only reason why employees take sick days? we do not know the reasons for the employees from leeville taking fewer days off from work than masonton. The author assumes that the reason masonton takes more days off from work is due to stress-related illnesses and the reason why leeville mitigates their days off is due to being healthier. however, there could be a number of other reasons. For instance, a masonton employee could be taking many sick days due to constant dentist visits or he or she may have to take their child to the doctor various times a month. A reason a leeville employee might take less days off is because they cannot afford to dismiss even a single days of work, despite being mentally sick. there are many reasons for employees to be taking sick days apart from being mentally ill.

Finally, is the quality of medical care similar? can we give the relaxed city of leeville all the credit for better health benefits? The author also assumes that there is equal healthcare access in both cities. assuming that the population comparisons is justifiable and the reasons for taking sick days off are also due to stress-relates illnesses, the health care quality, the doctors, and the cost of care might differ greatly. masonton could be a very expensive area for medical treatment while leeville could be affordable, thus attributing the cost of medical care as a major factor in the conribution to the number of sick days over the environment of the town and city.

before coming to the conclusion that the relaxed city is the reason why leeville has more health benefits than masonton, we need to analyze the three points and get the questions appropriately answered in order to aver than it is indeed the area and lifestyle and not the quality of medical care, population size confusion, or personal issues that contribute to those sick days and health benefits.