Argue 92

Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author asserts that health benefit due to Leeville’s relaxed paced of life. Although the author’s conjecture might be hold true in certain cases, it fails to provide generally accepted evidence, eventually leads to critical questions threaten the issue.

To begin with, fewer sick days does not provide health benefit, since the status supported is vague without further explanation. As it is not clearly specified about condition, sick days stated in argument needs to be justified such as comparing sample size for two worker groups, or investigate labor intensity. If, for instance, workers in Leeville, are engaged in simple industry like forestry or fishing, and it contains low intensity with seldom working days, they could have request fewer sick days compare to workers in Masonton, yet workers are not actually beneficial of relaxed pace of life. Therefore, since condition given in the argument is vague, in order to judge if fewer sick days directly related to health benefit, description for data is necessary.

Moreover, the author supposes stress-related illness diagnosis works as health indicator with evidence of propotionally lower statistics. However, this may not be warrented without further explanation, typically frequency of residents in different city visit hospital. Basically, diagnosis is authority of doctor, who examine in the hospital. In this argument, Leeville is stated as relatively small town, hopital number per capita may be smaller than large city Masonton, so it can cause low accessibility to hospital, eventually breed fewer diagnosis of stress-related illness, despite in reality there are more unidentified patient suffered from stress in Leeville. In conclusion, additional evidence such as average access to doctor is needed to decide whether fewer diagnosis bolsters healthy status of Leeville.

Even if the author’s believe in above two passage is true, assumption that relaxed pace is only sole factor determines health, needs to be subsantiated with further support. The argument sets only one case simply introducing Leeville and Mosonton, which might be exceptional case without additional explanation. Because population in Leeville is not stated in the passage, there is possibility that other factors can interfere. If, for example, number of workers in Leeville is too small, they can even work at same corporation, and its factor is based on their weekly physical activity done by one single company, not on relaxing pace, the author’s assert losts its foundation. Hence, it lacks firm grounds for assuming that relaxing pace Is dominating factor of health.

In sum, the argument is not well supported and based on incomplete assumptions. In order to support it, the author have to provide further evidence such as comparision of labor structure, accessibility of hospital, and examine other factors that determine health for on logical decision.