66. The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinuestocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

The author asserts that limiting inventory and focusing only for domestic cheese would elevate profits based on the sales ranking and magazine survey. Admittedly, the author’s argument might be hold true in certain cases, article failed to provide generally accepted evidence, eventually leads to critical questions threaten the issue.

First of all, the author claims that domestic cheese dominated top five sales rank at newest store from Wisconsin on last year, so customer needs are concentrated on domestic cheese. By doing so, the author assumes domestic cheese is more favorable in nationwide cheese store, so that can make more profits than improted one. The author, however, overlooks other possible causes such as place displacement. If, for example, since newest store held yearly campaign for selling local cheese at remarkably alleviated price, and it coincided exactly customers needs for local food, top 5 sales of domestic cheese would be resulted, as a irregular, furthermore temporary issues.Therefore, to conclude whether this strategy is sustainable for long term and avaliable at other stores, the author should provide further evidence with general pricing data, or preference at other region, since the stores are nationwidelly spreaded.

Similarly, the writer cites recent survey from specific magazine to argue that general customers prefer domestic cheese, but this may also be damaged without validating survey as a meaningful data. In other words, the data of preference are drawn from a sample that may not represent the entire customer. The sample number might have not large enough, since participants are not specified. Even if considerble data are gathered, that might have alredy been biased because the of the color of subscribers. If, for example, the magazine targetted its readers to domestic cheese producer, large portion of subscribers would prefer domestic cheese as a result, thus respondants of survey would be slightly differents with general custormers nationwide. Therefore, the author needs to supply whether the survey represents customers preference, so it can leads the fact what customers actually desire to purchase in the store.

Even if domestic cheese is popular, as the author claims, the plan for limiting inventory still needs specific data for profits by calculating actual margins of domestic and imported cheese, which is final purpose of idea. Hence there are no significant information for margin, the plan has possibility, which large portion of domestic cheese sales are offset by its low profit. Accordingly, the argument needs to be bolstered with specific analysis of income from both categories.

In sum, the argument is not well supported and based on incomplete assumptions. In order to support it, the author have to provide further evidence such as national store’s long term sales data, survey representitiveness, with detailed profits of cheese category for an logical decision.