The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo of the owner of the chain of cheese stores located throughout the united states, it is said that they have been stocking cheese of different variety both international and domestic since long time but last year all the best selling cheese of there newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from wisconsin. Also, a recent survey by cheeses of the world magazine has supported the owners claim by saying there survey also predict that the people are in favour of domestic cheese rather than imported cheese. Here, there are many assumption given which does not have any supporting evidences.

firstly, the owner had said about the best selling cheese at the newest store. These itself generates question, how best selling? the owner had not given any proof regarding it. Even the owner takes about the best selling cheese at their newest store then what about the other store. Here the owner fails in giving any evidences regarding the same. How can one just make a generalised point by just seeing the sells of the only one store that also newest. So, it can be considered that the assumed increased sales of the domestic cheese is just a biases thought without any proper data.

Secondly, in the argument a survey by Cheeses of the world magazine is given which itself is without any valid ground. Neither the number of people participated in the survey is shown nor how many of them supported is shown. How can one validate such survey? They have told that the participating people were their subscribers but had not told about how many subscribers they have? Also they had not told how many of the subscriber that they have participated in the survey. Also, how many of them is in the favour of the domestic cheese. It may be possible that the subscriber of the magazine like domestic but the people who does not subscribe to this magazine may like the imported cheese. So, here again the owner is giving the survey which does not validate any point mentioned above. i.e they are just merely a assumptions without a evidences. So, it can be inferred that there is no proper discription of the survey that prove it to be true.

Finally, the owner says that it will be helpful in increasing profit. But there arises a question how? Also he/she says that they will discontinue stocking imported cheese and concentrating primarily on the domestic cheese which will increase profit but it can be doubted that these can turn there tactics to increase profit the other way and may lead to losses as the other people will go away from their customer base.

At the end, it can be concluded that there are no enough evidences to support the owners point. So, the above point should be considered before going any step ahead.