The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor of an environmental magazine, it is stated that in 1975 wildlife census there were seven species of amphibian and each of them in abundant quantity in Xanadu National Park. In 2002, they were reduced to four and there quantity has also been reduced. The reason for reduction given by the author is the introduction of trout-which are known to eat amphibian eggs against the worldwide reduction of amphibian due to the global pollution of air and water. The reasons provided by author are merely a assumption as there are no evidences provided by the author to prove the reasons true.

First of all, the author states that there were abundant numbers of amphibian in each of seven species that were there in 1975. while in 2202, they were reduced to four and their population drastically reduced. Here, the author had neither provided any numbers related to the population of the amphibian in 1975 nor what is the population in 2002. Also he/she had failed to provide the decrease in the population. He/She had not provided any figures related to any of the three mentioned above. which makes us to think that the reasons taken by the author are just the assumption without any evidences.

Secondly, author says that the reason for the substantial decrease in the amphibian worldwide is global pollution of water and air. How is that concluded? Author had not give any survey or any research which has proved that. It seems that it is the thinking of the author which is providing this type of answers regarding the reduction of population of amphibians. He/she had not given any proof regarding any survey from which the author had deduced the reason for the reduction of the population of the amphibians worldwide. Thus, it can be inferred that these reason cannot be considered as true as there are no evidences related to it.

Thirdly, it is been stated by the author that the reason for the decrease of amphibian in Xanadu National Park is not global pollution of water and air but the introduction of the animal named trout in the park which are known to eat the amphibian eggs. Again, there are no amount of eggs eaten by trout given or the eggs produced by the amphibian in the same period given. Also how can one conclude that the reason for decrease is only trout and there is no effect of air pollution and water pollution to the amphibian. Anything which can prove author's point in the argument is not given. So, these reason should also not be considered true.

At the end, it can be concluded that author is just taking on the hypothetical points. He/she fails to give any proof's which prove their point true and thus there argument needs to be rechecked.