The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine."In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibi

In this letter, the author shows us there are significant delcines of amphibians both in the number of spicies and population from 1975 to 2002 om Xanadu Park. Though there is a major decline of the amphbians' poplation worldwide as well as the water and air pollution have already been the worldwide problems, the atuhor concludes another main reason that it is the introduce of trout which are know to eat amphibian eggs triggered the decline of the amphibans in this park. While this reason is not conpelling in that there are some loopholes in this letter, we should reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the survey of the amphibians in Xanadu Park is not convincing as there are some inaccurate data which need further evidence. Firstly, as we do not know the percentage of the amphibians now compared with the number of 1975, thus we can not conclude how serious the problem is. Secondly, only four species were found while it was seven in 1975, the author does not tell us whether there is some other cases made this decline as there is a possbility that the park is open thus the three spicies moved outside because of the competitions between these amphibian spicies. In order to make this evidence clear, beside more comprehensive data supplied , we need to know whether there are some amphibian spicies living out side this park.

In addtion, as the place of the Xanadu Park is given, whether there are sufficent space of habitats for these seven spicies is in question. If the place is not large enough, due to the possbily once increased population of the amphibians, there would be a severe spicies competitions among them in high possbility. Thus, some comparable weak spicies would extinct or leave this place. So further infromation about this possible competition is needed.

Then even if the author concludes the introducing of trout is the main cause of the declining of amphbian population rather than the worldwide water and air pollution, the evidence is still not compelling. Fitstly, we do not know the change of population of the trout from the introducing to date. Thus we can not conclude the trout benefited from the amphibians even if they like eating their eggs. Maybe there are few trout which means no threatens to the eggs let alone some these dangerous carnivorous spicies. On ther other hand, the worldwide water and air problems may affect the environment of the Xanadu Park, likewise. Maybe as the water polluted, these amphbians would die fast if there is no emergent implements to prevent this accident, the air pollution may also casue the health effect on these animals.

In all, the author's evidence is not convincing to support his idea. More futher evidence are required. Firstly, the author should make a wide survey of the local spicies including the peditors and food supply of theses ampibians ,secondly, the local environment should be examined careully.