The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper."The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time perio

It is argued that, in order to ensure the fair prices for consumers, the Batavia government should begin regulate retaill mile prices. By the evidence that the number of the local diary farms has increase 25 percent greater thatn 10 years ago while the local mile price has doubled surprisingly. While thie statement is problematic, because more evidence are required to support the suggetion by the author. The evidence in this letter also has some loopholes, so we need to reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the atuhor does not tell us the specific conditions of these diary farms. Firstly, the increasing number of the farms is vague as we can not see the accurate statistics. GIven there is an 25 percent increasing, maybe where was 20 farms in this city now it's 25 while this supply of milk is far less compare to the purveying the local market even Bativaia need import milk outside due to the scale of the large city possibly. Secondly, likewise where these mile selling to is another important case foe us to analyze the demands and supplies locally. Maybe the local milk is good enough to be the material of cheese instead of dringking, so the local price's increasing is possible as the mile supply is really sufficient. In this case , the author should find out the origin place of the milk in the markets besides the only one-Excello Food Market which maybe favored by the rich residents.

In addtion, there is another important time the author does not offer to us. Given to the fluctuation and inflation of the economy ,it is possible for the price of the mile fluctuating in a normal range as they are daily consumptions, the inflation likewise may also attribute to the increasing price of the milk. So we should know how long does it take for the price of the mile increased from $1.50 to ove $ 3.00 per gallon. If it takes a short time, we may consider maybe the local diary farmer had some troubles as the cows got sick or the price of the grazing food for cow was increasing dramatically. If the time takes long, it is highly possible related to the inlflation of the price in totall. So the author should instigate the price of some daily comodities lile eggs,bacons,vegetables to find out whether the inflation afftced the local market.

Finally, it is hasty to regulate the retail milk prices. Beside the evidence from one local marker is not sufficeint, the Government should not make decision before the they really find out the reason of the increasing price. From the side of the diary farmers, they would be affected directly if the authority regulates the price, maybe they will offer less milk than before even turn to the diary business to other places to gain more profits. From the side of the consumers, maybe they can gain the benefit from the government temporarily, while in the future they may not meet the milk from local farms even they could ruin the local diary farms by the regulation from th government.

In all, it would not be feasible to regulate the price of the milk by local government before theauthority and the author making everything clear.As their evidence is not compelling, more evidence are required as we disscussed above. So this unconvincing letter should be studied again. Firstly , the author should make a wide survey in local markets.Secondly he should find out the increasing is for temporary or gradual.