The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author contends that the governments of the Batavia decide to control the profit of the dairy farmers by regulating and offering a fair price for selling milk. To support, reasons that the producing of the milk increase in comparison to the 10 years ago and the price of the milk increase from 1.5$ to 3$. I find this argument logically unconvincing because it rests on the number of vital questions are to be answered.

The first problem of the argument is that the author unfairly assumes that the increase in the price of the milk has the correlation with increasing the profit of the dairy farmers. The correlation alone amounts to scant evidence of the claimed cause and effects relationship. It is entirely possible the author overlooks some factors that might absent is this specific case but present in all others. In addition, it raises the question that did any process in producing milk increase the price? Because it is entirely possible that the producing material of the milk package become rare, therefore, the price of milk package and plastic increase. Hence, without ruling these possibilities the author cannot convince me that increasing milk price has the correlation with increasing the dairy farmer profit.

The second problem of the recommendation is that the author relies on the vague and unclear evidence of report by mentioning that the number of dairy farmer become greater by 25percent, however, the author did not mention that how many farmers take part in this specific report. As you know, the greater the number of participants, the more valid and reliable the findings are. Therefore, the author does not answer the question that what was the former number of farmers and the exact total number of the farmers now? Or how many former took part in research? Because it is entirely possible that the number of farmers who took part was not significant. In addition, even if assumes that the number of the farmer who took part in this reports was enough, the author did not indicate sufficient evidence to represent the sample are representative of the sample society. In a research, the findings can be generalized to the concerned population when the samples are representative of the target society in terms of age, gender, income, social class and so forth. Hence, the author has to answer the questions that are all the farmers have been in this job for many years or they are the beginner? Or do all the farmers who take part in this report have the same gender or age? Because it is entirely possible that the number of dairy farmer increase but they do not have much experience in this field, therefore, they cannot increase the profit and produce of the dairy.

Finally, the author unfairly overlooks the fact that the thing changes over the 10 years. However, the author assumes that everything remains unchanged for the 10 years. It is entirely possible that because the population of the country increase in these 10 years the governments have to import some of the diary good from other countries, therefore, the price of the milk increase. To strengthen, the author has to provide more evidence to prove his claim.

In sum, according to all above mentioned, to convince me, the author has to answer the mentioned questions and provide more firm and solid evidence to prove his claim.