The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument contends that one of a highway of the city named Blue Highway faces heavy traffic jams and the author claims that adding new car lane cannot be a good solution. To support he mentioned about Green Highway that adding lane increase the traffic jam on it. Finally, the author recommends that they have to add lane for bicycle and in this way they can decrease the number of hour in traffic jam. I find this argument logically unconvincing because it rests on not sufficient evidence.

The first problem of the argument is that the author relies on not solid and firm reports, and did not indicate that how many people exactly complain about the traffic jam in this highway. As you know, in the research the greater the number of participants the valid and reliable the findings are. Therefore, it is entirely possible that the number of people who complain about this situation was not significant and too low. Even if, assumes that the number of people who complain about the traffic jam was enough, the author overlooks the fact that the findings of the research can be generalized to the target population; therefore, the results of the research have to representative of the sample society on terms of age, gender, social class and career. Maybe, the most of the people who complain about traffic jam are pass this highway once a week because of their career on 7 am and the highway always have traffic jam on that exact time. Hence, they complain cannot representative of their sample society. In addition, the author did not mention about the methodology that used for collecting data. It is entirely possible that the methodology that used is problematic and the result tainted. In sum, without ruling these possibilities the author cannot convince me the results of these reports are valid and reliable to prove his claim.

The second problem of the argument is that the author assumes that the Blue Highway is identical to Green Highway in all respects. It is possible that more people pass from the Green highway in day than the Blue highway therefore, the additional lane on the Green Highway make the situation worse. However, maybe, adding the bicycle lane in the Green Highway could not solve the heavy traffic jam problem because the author did not provide sufficient and firm evidence to represent that the bicycle lane or additional care lane increase or decrease the traffic jam. To strengthen, the author have to provide more firm evidence to represent that these two highway have completely same condition and the author can compare them.

The final problem of the argument is that the author unfairly accounts that there is a correlation between using more bicycle and decreasing the traffic jam on the Blue highway. The correlation alone amounts to scant evidence to claimed cause and effects relationship. It is entirely possible that the highway become more crowded because of new shopping mall in the city center of city therefore, adding bicycle lane cannot have effects on decreasing the traffic jams.

In sum, according to all above mentioned, to convince me the author have to provide sufficient and solid evidence to prove his recommendation.