"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

The argument states solutions to the heavy traffic faced during rushed hours of the day on Blue Highways. The favored solution is building a new lane for motorists lobby and widen the high way. Adding a new lane to high was not a successful idea for Green Highways which faced a similar condition of heavy traffic during rushed hours. Hence, opponents have a alternate idea of introducing a lane for bicycle which will encourage people to use bicycles. Even though the statement is good enough to persuade people for choosing a health conscious way to avoid traffic, the argument has several loop holes and it doesnt provide sufficient proofs to support the decision of building a bicycle lane over a motorist lobby.

The favored solution by commuters is to create a motorist lobby. This solution need to be favored more because commuters are the people who are actually facing the issue everyday and they have a better idea of the situation during rushed hours. Creating a separate lane for bikes would free up the space for large vehicles like school and office buses and local buses. As this would also be helpful to avoid accidents causing on the highways.

Secondly, opponents suggest to have a bicycle lane over a bike lane because this idea did not work on Green Highways. This statement need further clarification regarding the similarities between traffic faced by the 2 highways. For example, Green Highways might have less motorists during rushed areas and hence creating a separate bike lane was not successful. On the other hand as commuters are favored in creating a bike lane strongly points out the increased number motorists on Blue Highways. Therefore, comparison between the two highways lies upon assumptions rather than strong evidences.

Thirdly, the newly proposed idea of creating a bicycle lane seems quite convincing to us also need some strong evidences. The author claims that residents of the city are keen bicyclist. Even though city is full of keen bicyclist, it is not necessary that these people are the ones who are commuting during rush hours. Also, people might not want to use bicycles during their commute hours. People might prefer to use bicycle during their workout hours rather than using it in commute hours. Even though this choice seems like a better idea. We need a strong yet more convincing evidences.

Therefore, in conclusion, the argument needs a strong evidence regarding the proposal of creating a bicycle lane over bike lane. Even though creating a bike lane on another Highway didn't work out and it lead to unnecessary chaos, it might not be the case for Blue highway. The city should estimate the number of 2 wheeler , 4 wheeler and other kind of automobiles used during rush hours and then decide which might be the relevant solution. Therefore, argument needs a strong evidences to claim the bicycle lane over motorists lobby.