Argue 27: The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

“Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists’ lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year’s addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this letter, the editor argues that Blue Highway should add the bicycle lane to solve the existed traffic jam problem. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

Fist, the editor needs to provide the more specific evidence about the difference about background environments between Green Highway and Blue Highway. It is possible that the traffic jam originated in Green Highway is not due to the lack of the traffic lane, but due to the other environmental conditions such as aberrant construction or traffic accident. The editor should provide more concrete evidence about the relationship between the traffic jam and the additional traffic lane. In addition, the editor only gives the information about the traffic jam of Green Highway for the last year. To generalize the relevance, the editor should provide the information of Green Highway for longer period at least for five years.

Second, the editor needs to supplement the argument with more evidence on the validity of the problem: there’s a traffic jam in the Blue Highway. The argument states that the commuting time has doubled due to the traffic jam. If the initial time is minute, “doubled” may not be a significant increase. In this case, reducing commuting time might not be important. Even though the increase in commuting time is substantial, the doubled commuting time may be temporary. The editor should give more concrete evidence about the sustainability of the traffic jam.

Lastly, more specific pieces of evidence are needed on the credibility of the conclusion that a bicycle lane would encourage people to use bicycles to commute and reduce rush hour traffic. There is no concrete relationship between the additional bicycle lane and the usage of the bicycle to commute. Residents might not use the bicycle for their commuting: they may just use the bicycle for their leisure time. Also, the commuting through bicycle may increase the commuting time, which residents wants to reduce. It is likely that residents will use car instead of bicycle, even though still with the traffic jam. The editor should suggest more adamant evidences about the credibility of the additional bicycle lane.

In brief, the author’s claim is unsound on many aspects. To bolster the argument, the author needs to give more detailed information about the environment of two highways and area residents.