The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

“Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rushhour traffic.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that a part of people want to add an additional lane on Blue Highway, whereas others support to increase an additional bicycle lane. Nevertheless, due to several flaws in both states after scrutiny, the argument has to answer the following question to make the argument more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in this argument that motorists state the commute time has doubled. However, this contention is meaningless since what is the base number of this double? In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon the contention which made by commuters because contention is inadequate in that what the exact time of commute is? There are 10 minutes, 30 minutes, or 1 hour? Though the time really increases double, the actual time might only 10 minutes or less. If the total time is not so much, it is still necessary to build a new lane to decrease the time? In order to confirm commuters point of view, they should pay close heed to as well as address the representative probability mentioned above. Only the specific number of time is the key to bolstering the advice.

In addition, even though the writer may be able to provide us with enough information to infer a solution to the above problem, the argument is still ill-conceived. Another problem is opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. It may be true in Green Highway, but it is the same situation on both highways? Does the Green have the same commuters as Blue? Alternatively, do the combinations of residents and the direction of their commute ways are the same? The writer does not provide information on these two highways that the readers are hard to judge the experience on Green could use on Blue. Pursuing this reasoning proves that the writer has the responsibility to carefully consider the assumptions and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable argument.

Ultimately, a crucial problem remains that opponents claim a new bicycle lane is a good method to solve the traffic problem because many residents are keen bicyclists, and the new lane could make the residents ride bicycles to work. However, this contention is open to a number of interpretations. Perhaps, although the residents really love to ride the bicycle to relax, they are hard to ride bicycles because the distance to the works are too long, or riding bicycle is too dangerous in the city in the morning. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely scenarios, by no means could the opponents could contend that the bicycle lane is a good idea to solve the problem.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the author to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic premises. To eliminate the implausibility of recommendation, the author must offer the more specific evidence mentioned on the above.