It is important for the government to provide meney to things that are beautiful and not just for things that are practical.

When the government spends money on the development of cities, beauty and practicality are two very important key points. Some people think that practicality is more essential than beauty, whereas others hold the opposite opinion. In my perspectives, I believe beauty and practicality are equally significant on the issue. I will explore the reasons in the following essay.

First of all, the government needs tax revenue to function well and the arts could produce tax revenue. For example, in my country, we have a great building called Taipei 101, which is the tallest structure in Asia once and very famous in the world. Taipei 101 was funding by the government and constructed by one of best constructors in the world. Many tourists will travel to Taiwan for seeing this city's hallmark and wishing that could stand on the top layer in the building. Tourism's revenue could bring a huge income to the government.

Second, beautiful arts could increase the happiness index of citizens and, by this increase, people have many positive influences in many places. According to the research, conducted by Executive Yuan in my country, the number of worker's efficiency in the past three years has surprisingly improved roughly about 12% in Taipei. In fact, the contributing factor lies in the fact that workers cannot perform well under many stresses. Because of the happiness increase, people in the city feel much happier than before, and it largely promotes the motivation and impetus of citizens to work. The case is not rare. Many different cities in the world have the same phenomenon. Such would be the direct evidence that bears witness to the fact that beauty is the benefit to cities.

To sum up, the two reasons mentioned on the above seem that only indicate how beauty is important but the two reasons actually point that when the government considers providing money to such things, they already have considered the benefits behind the beautiful things such as arts. And it is actually the part of practicality. Thus, I am of opinion that practicality is as important as beauty.