Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there is a different view of the issue about whether the relatives are more separating than before. Depending on personal experiences and beliefs, we may find that some people really think the relationship is worse than the past, while other holds the different attitude that it does not have any change. As far as I concerned, I believe the extended family is not less important. The following discussion will explore my view.

Indeed, many people will feel they are reducing to contact with their relatives such as cousins or aunts in now. Every Chinese new year in the past, the whole family will come together to have a big meal and give some luck money for every child as the blessing to next year. During this period, a family will have many activities but they would move together. However, people have more and more choices than before in recent new years. Most of them may not get together to enjoy the new year, instead, they may choose to take a trip to different countries. Therefore, it is true that many people will feel the relationship is going to worse because they do not meet anymore even when the Chinese new year.

On the other hand, although the extended family is less to meet in the normal time, with the development of technology, people are often to use different ways to connect with one another. For example, while I am little to meet with my cousins, I got a lot of help from my cousins in the past year when I graduated from college and also in finding the job. During the time when my cousins help me to find the job, we did not see each other. All communication and information delivery is through the internet. Moreover, by this event, we become more familiar with each other. Thus, that the relatives are not important than in the past seems not to be true.

In fact, the members of the family are linked by the blood, which means if there are no other factors such as the severe fight or something that could totally beak the emotion between members, it is impossible family will gradually become unimportant. A family may be true that will less communicate, but when the member in a family needs the help, the other members still will stand out for help. This point is unquestionable.

In conclusion, despite the fact that sometimes the family is few to contact, there are still many other factors which will make us keep the important relationship. Therefore, we cannot presumptuously believe the statement of the topic.