In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation which provides by the writer is very clear. Only a few pieces of evidence need to be established before a choice as undertaking the road improvement project can be made.

First of all, the author claims that Prunty County's regulation which established last year has failed. The regulation does not reduce the number of accidents. However, the author has to provide evidence whether the failure is directly relative to the regulation of the speed limit law or not. For example, the reason for failure might be because of the weather, or the increase of population in the county last year. These two factors are really possible to make such failure because, in the bad weather such as storm or heavy snow, cars are much more challenging to drive on the road than usual that everybody already know it, and the increasing population could represent the increasing cars so that Prunty has more chance to happen the accidents than before.

Second, the writer mentions in the letter that Butler County success because of the road improvement project. Also, the writer needs to show the specific information that the reducing of accidents in Butler is really causing by this plan. Although Butler makes much change, the factors contributing to the decreasing accidents might have not relevant to those improving. In other words, the massive tax which increases in a couple of years, an aging population, and the promoting to the public transformation are all the factors, which could let citizens in Butler reduce to drive cars on streets. Consequently, accidents are naturally diminishing.

Furthermore, even if the improvement really work very well in Butler, it will have the same function in Prunty? Do Butler and Prunty have any similar place? Alternatively, why the experience in Butler can share to Prunty? Such pieces of information are all needed to be explained clearly. Otherwise, the readers or receiver has no idea why they should accept the concept which is applied in Butler. Additionally, whether a five years old plan still is working today is a big question needed to examine.

In conclusion, to make the argument more convincing, the author must offer the more specific evidence mentioned on the above.