The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The arguments prove that the birth order will effect monkeys when they meet an individual's levels of stimulation. However, this arguments fail to rule out a series of alternative explanations and are therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author claims that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol when they are stimulating. Nevertheless, the different amount of hormone cortisol may be influenced by different age. For example, the body size of ten years old animal will be large than five years old in the same species, and different size could have different ability to secrete the different amount of hormone that seems to be very normal. Thus, the difference could be explained by the body size or age, but it could is nothing about the order.

Second, the writer uses human to be an example to support the idea about the order. On the other hand, although we are similar to the monkeys in some aspects, we still are not the same species. We are very different in many places such as the number of fingers and joints. Therefore, the reason why humans and monkeys have the same phenomenon may be because of the coincide. On the other words, humans and monkeys might have the same situation with different factors.

Furthermore, the article states that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. However, the letter does not provide information about why the first-time mother with high cortisol has relevant to the firstborn child. Perhaps the first-time mother is because her body first time experience the pregnancy so that she has the different reaction, or it just effects by the mind of the mother, which means that first-time mother sometimes will more sensitive than other non-first-time mothers.

The above mentioned alternative explanations should be carefully thought about in evaluation the relationship between the reaction of stimulation and the birth order.