The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

The argument claims that levels of stimulation of an individual are affected by birth order. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily state that firstborn baby rhesus monkeys produce up to two times as much of the hormone cortisol as do their younger siblings in stimulating situations. This statement is a stretch since the author compares the amount of hormone cortisol between old and young monkeys. Suppose, for example, the firstborn monkeys produce more hormone since they are older and more mature. Clearly, the cause of this phenomenon could lie in the age group but not in birth order. The argument could have been much more cogent if it explicitly showed that the quantity of hormone cortisol between monkeys that have different birth order and similar age group.

Second, the argument claims that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. This is again a very hasty and unconvincing claim as the observation of analogous phenomenon needs to be examined carefully. Although humans and rhesus monkeys share many similar attributes, they could express differently. To illustrate, the observed behavior in humans might be the result of communication between parents and children; obviously, monkeys lack this ability. Therefore, the author could be too reckless when concluding the correlation between birth order and levels of stimulation.

Finally, the author also mentions that first-time mother monkeys have higher levels of cortisol than experienced mother. Could the firstborn monkeys produce much more hormone cortisol than their siblings due to the high levels of cortisol of first-time mother monkeys? Did the author find out which causes affect levels of cortisol of first-time mother monkeys during pregnancy? Without convincing answer to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the conclusion that the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation.