Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The argument claims that woven baskets were not originally Palean. Stated in this way the argument reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the discovered baskets in Lithos were analogous to the Palean one. This statement is a stretch since the author did not provide any archaeological evidence indicating those baskets are similar to Palean baskets. For example, manufacture time or material of those baskets. Clearly, the author did not show detail information to compare with the baskets of Palean people. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that which characteristics of the discovered baskets match with Palean baskets.

Second, the argument claims that there is no Palean boats have been found in Lithos therefore Paleans did not cross the Brim River. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between ancient Palean people could have crossed the river and no Palean boats have been found in the other side of the river. To illustrate, Palean people might find another path to cross the river therefore they did not need to use boats. If the argument had provided evidence that crossing the river is the only way to go to Lithos then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument is still not clear in many aspects. How many percent the discovered baskets match with Palean baskets? What if people from Lithos crossed the river to Paleans’ land and came home with the native’s baskets? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the current conclusion that woven baskets were not uniquely Palean.