Sending criminals to prison is not the effective method to deal with them. Education and job training should be used instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that governments should only support their local citizens instead of helping residents in other countries. While it is true that the government need to focus on their own people, I believe it is also possible to provide support for others around the world.

To begin with, there are some reasons why governments should help people in their own nations. Firstly, because of an increasing number of homeless people in local communities such as people who do not have their own houses live under bridges or metro stations, authorities should prioritise to help those who are impoverished and cannot afford shelters. For example, the government could provide public houses and free food. Secondly, due to transitional economy, the unemployment rate has increased dramatically. For instance, in Vietnam, the labour-intensive economy has been developing to knowledge-based economy that required a numerous of educated employees. Therefore, authorities should take care of unemployment seriously. For example, governments could provide job training for unemployed individuals. this could help to reduce the number of jobless people.

However, I would argue that we can also support individuals coming from other parts of the world. First, because there are a great number of undeveloped countries where citizens live in a poor standard of living such as Haiti or Ethiopia, governments of developed nations need to support these poorer countries. this might help them overcome difficult situations. For example, when people in African countries are dying from curable diseases, richer countries could donate medicines and provide medical support. Additionally, diplomacy plays an essential role in the growth of economy. For instance, Japan usually provide ODA for many developing countries. this could improve diplomatic relations between nations and ensure the sustainable development of countries.

In conclusion, it is true that governments could support their citizens, I believe it is also possible to help people in the world.