Sending criminals to prison is not the effective method to deal with them. Education and job training should be used instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that governments should provide criminals with education and vocational training instead of putting them into prison. While it is true that education and job training are good methods, I would argue that sending offenders to prison is the best way to punish them.

To begin with, there are some benefits of giving education and job training to criminals. Firstly, due to the low consciousness of legal systems, people who have limited literacy usually offend the law or break the rule. For example, recidivism in Vietnam is high because of the high illiteracy rate. Therefore, education is prerequisite for changing petty criminals’ attitude towards family and society. This could help them to reintegrate into society. Secondly, since offenders are usually unemployed and have the desire of earning handsome income rapidly, job training is another essential factor to prevent them from having misbehaviour such as shoplifter or bank robbery. As a result, legislators should provide them vocational training, working experience and hand-ons in order to make them become productive members of society.

However, I believe the most effective way is to send all criminals to prison. First, currently, there are an increasing number of serious crimes. For example, in the US, a great number of people have been massacred in shooting raids. Therefore, authorities have to isolate violent criminals from society by putting them into jail. This could avoid these people doing harm to innocent civilians. Additionally, governments usually use harsh punishments on serious criminals. For instance, in Singapore, there is death sentence for drug carriers. This could alert a severe warning to people who want to commit crime against humanity. Consequently, people might hesitate to offend a crime in the future.

In conclusion, it is true that governments should give education and job training to criminals, I believe the best method is sending them to prison.