Sending criminals to prison is not the effective method to deal with them. Education and job training should be used instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether criminals should serve prison sentences or not. I completely disagree with the idea that education and vocational training should replace prison sentences to deal with crime, especially dangerous crime.

The first reason why prison sentences still play an important role in punishment is that education is only useful for people who commit minor crime but not tough enough on dangerous criminals. First, it is difficult to educate dangerous criminals. If a person who poses a serious danger still lives in society without paying a penalty for their crime, law-abiding citizens might feel indignant. As a consequence, the gap between the criminal and other people in society is increasingly wide and thus he has no chance of rehabilitation even his possibility of recidivism is very high. Second, education does not help dangerous criminals to be aware of the strictness of the law. For example, a brutal killer is likely to be unaware of his crime and probably commit a crime again simply because he only has to be educated after killing a person.

In addition, I strongly believe that prisons are a necessary environment to educate criminals. First of all, prisons prevent them repeating the same offence. According to International Police Organization, at least 10 percent of criminals are unaware of their crime and want to back to their former criminal lifestyle after being convicted a criminal. Therefore, prisons seem to be the best place to reform them. Furthermore, nowadays vocational training courses are provided by most prisons to help criminals to acquire skills to reintegrate back into society. The fact that more than 70 percent of ex-prisoners find jobs related to the skills that they acquired during their prison term shows that these programs are generally effective.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that prison sentences are essential to deal with crime. I think education and vocational training should be applied for petty crimes and combined with prison sentences.